

THE CRITERIA FOR AWARD OF RESEARCH PUBLICATIONS INCENTIVES

The following Deans/Directors met on 29 March 2022 in Rector's office to chalk out the above criteria under the chairmanship of Dr. Tariq Soomro the Acting Rector IoBM:

Dr. Tariq Soomro Acting Rector Dr. Shahida Wizarat Dean CESD Dr. Shujaat Mubarak Dean CBM

Dr. Seema Ansari Advisor to Rector
Dr. Kashif Nisar Associate Dean CCIS

Dr. Shahid Amjad Director QEC
Dr. Samra Javed Director ORICS
Dr. Muhammad Arif Director Research
Dr. Ather Akhlaq Director OGS

Dr. M Imran Majid HoD EE

In his opening remarks the chairman briefed all participants about the purpose of the meeting, which was to lay down the criteria for the award of incentives in respect of research publications produced by the faculty. He also shared the copy of President's approved recommendations of, "Research Publications Analysis Report 2020-2021" produced by Director Research. All the participants unanimously agreed to the following criteria for the award of said incentives at College/Department/Individual levels:

- a. **The Best College**. The college achieving highest publications to faculty ratio for the year under consideration shall be declared as the, "*Best Performing College*". The ratio shall be arrived at by dividing number of Publications for the year with the existing number of permanent faculty. The winning college shall be awarded with a shield.
- b. **The Best Department**. The department from each college achieving highest publications to faculty ratio for the year under consideration shall be declared as the, "*Best Performing Department*". The ratio shall be arrived at by dividing number of Publications for the year with the existing number of permanent faculty of the respective department. The winning department shall be awarded with a shield.
- c. **Best Researcher of the IoBM**. The researcher achieving highest publication score among all the colleges shall be declared, "The *Best Researcher of the IoBM*" and shall be awarded Shield+ Certificate + Cash prize.

- d. **The Best College Researcher**. One researcher from each college achieving highest publication score within his/her respective college shall be declared, "*Best Researcher of the College*" and shall be awarded Shield+ Certificate + Cash prize.
- e. **Book Authors**. Every author of a published book shall be awarded Shield+ Certificate + Cash prize
- f. **Publication Weightage**. The publication score shall be calculated using following weightage:

S.No	Publication Type	Weightage
1.	'W' Category	20
2.	'X' Category	10
3.	'Y' Category	5
4.	Other Papers	4
5.	Book Chapter	3
6.	Conference Paper Presentation	2

g. Order of Authors & Allocation of Publication Weightage. The publication weightage as stipulated in sub para 'f' above shall be further allocated to each author in term of percentage point as under:

S.No	Order of	Allowance of %age of
	Author	Weightage
1.	Solo author	100 %
2.	1 st author	100 %
3.	2 nd author	80 %
4.	3 rd author	60 %
5.	4 th author	40 %
6.	5 th author	20 %
7.	6 th to 10 th author	10 % each
8.	10 th to Nth author	5 % each

Note: In order to give a fair opportunity to all the faculty members it was decided that the faculty member achieving best researcher of the IoBM shall not be considered for the college level award.

The Above incentives shall be awarded during Annual Publications Review to be arranged by the office of the Director Research. The above criteria is being circulated with the approval of the president IoBM.